Top Five Games Disappointing Games 2: The Reckoning

Back when I was thinking of what I was going to do for this list I didn’t realise that I already had done beforehand so I thought you know what can go down well: sequels. So, for this list this is going to a follow on a previous list.

5: WWE 2K20: So, to start of this list is game that has been critically panned by fans and reviewers alike. I have a very hard time trying to find anything good so far to say about this game because it has dropped a lot in quality for what had came before had. A lot of the character models have dropped in quality across the board with one of the biggest comparisons being of the model of The Rock used in 2k19 where it looked a lot more like him and then in 2k20 where it looks more like a bad Rock cosplayer. There have also been a lot of glitches that have happened with the game, with people finding a lot of unintended collisions happening and one person even managing to have a wrestler being hurled around the ring, like a washing machine on a fast spin. Luckily enough for me the only problems that I have came across have been has been that of some small collisions as well as having a slight problem when it came to a tag match where, no matter even if I had hit the correct button to get on the apron, I wouldn’t move. The only thing that I do find strange about these problems that have happened with these is that there is one name that is missing from the game for the first time ever and that is Yukes who have been a part of the WWE Games since SmackDown! on the PlayStation, so I don’t know if the problems have to do with it just been done by Visual Concepts but it seems that’s what the problems could be. The other problem that I had with the game then actually comes down to the story of the game and oh boy does it seem to be melodramatic and bad. The story focus is one of the most confusing and stupidly built I have seen from a wrestling game (and I played the TNA Impact game), in which it follows Trey and Red who are being inducted into the Hall of Fame (which it throws at you at the beginning of the game) and their trail on how they ended up in the WWE. Now I haven’t completed the game yet (I’m still waiting for an update that hopefully resolved the problems) but from what I have played it has been rather dull and both Trey and Red are two of the most boring people that I have ever seen in a WWE Game and it is making me want to really wish that I had never bought this game. Trey is an idiot who is there as a joke and there for the entertaining side, whereas Red is the one that is dedicated to becoming a wrestler, however it is her attitude that is the worst thing about her since that she gets mad whenever somebody pisses her off. Hopefully the rest of game might be better and I’m hoping that the Showcase Mode of the Four Horsewomen is a lot better.

4: Shadow of the Tomb Raider: Another game that I do think is rather good but with flaws is the third instalment of the rebooted Tomb Raider series, in which we continue the tales of Lara and in this one we take a trip to South America, in which it feels more like this game should have come out in 2012 with it ties into the ancient times and indigenous tribe that Lara befriends. The story is rather interesting, but it did have its flaws, especially with one segment of the game where a village is destroyed during a cataclysmic event. But the problem that I had with the game was with the final boss battle and I have only a few words to say about it and that is dull, boring and repetitive. It seemed to be rather like the way to defeat the boss from Rise of the Tomb Raider in which you pretty much take care of the ads to take on the boss. I was disappointed with this, but I digress it was a fun game to play.

3: Pokémon Ultra Sun/Ultra Moon: First let me say this about this game, I do like playing this game. I have done Nuzlocks, Wonderlocks and now currently doing an Egglock of the game, but when the game came out I was rather disappointed about the game and the main reason to do with it was the story of the game. The original games Sun and Moon were rather decent, but it seemed that there was something more missing from the game, in a slight similar way that X/Y had apparent code for more things to do with Zygarde and then incorporated it into S/M. When it was announced that there was going to be another Gen VII game a lot of people thought that it was going to be a sequel game, in the same vain in what Black2/White2 were for Gen V, but alas it turned out not to be. Instead we pretty much just got the director’s cut version of S/M. We had an increased amount of Pokémon and the introduction of new characters as well as a more redefined story. The game pretty much follows beat for beat of the original game, all the way up to Aether Paradise/Ancient Poni Path where you are basically there to stop Necrozma from consuming the light as well as revealing a new form on Necrozma. But there was something that I did prefer that the original game did a lot better and that was the story between Lillie and Lusamine since it focused a lot on how Lillie had changed as a character and standing up to her mother and that she had changed a lot (even before being absorbed by Nhilego) but that is pretty much missed from USUM since that Lusamine Possessed heads into Ultra Space to defeat Necrozma to no avail. Another problem that I didn’t like about the game was the Totem Stickers/Totem Pokémon since that it pretty much made it feel like that you were getting a competitive Pokémon for collecting in-game rewards. It felt rather cheap and it also made it feel like the Totem Pokémon were less special since that you only saw them or got to fight them when doing the trails. Everything else about the game I thought was rather fine, the Rainbow Rocket post game was enjoyable since you also got to expand of the theory pretty much that the Ultra Wormholes helped tie into the similar events from ORAS with alternate time like with being able to fight previous version of the villain team leaders.

2: Batman Arkham Knight: I bet if you were to see an Arkham series game on this it would be WB Montreal’s Arkham Origins, but here’s the thing: Origins didn’t have the Batmobile. Arkham Knight is an okay game at best, the story was pretty much predictable if you picked up on some of the subtle hints that happened through the game especially with the Joker flashbacks where it was revealed that he had in fact kidnapped Jason Todd instead of killing him and turns him into the Arkham Knight aligning himself with Scarecrow and taking over Gotham City. The thing that bugged me a lot with this game is that it relied way too heavily on the use of the Batmobile. Yes, it was a nice new feature for the game and it was an easier way to get around the open world area, however the thing that was the most annoying and unbelievable thing was to do with the Riddler challenges. How in the hell did Riddler manage to build entire raceways underneath Gotham City without anybody (including Batman) knowing what was happening? Seriously it was a moment in the game that really annoyed me having to traverse the tunnels that Riddler controls, but there is one thing that annoyed me even more and that was the Cloudburst battle that takes a large amount of time since especially if you end up dying to it since there isn’t a checkpoint when get it down to a certain health. Another problem that I had also still had to do with the Riddler and the Batmobile and that was the Riddler Trophies that are scattered across the hub world in which I found it rather difficult to try and solve (I know that there supposed to be hard to solve cause of Riddler’s stich) and thus I have not yet seen what happens with the true Knightfall ending (and yes I know its on YouTube, I’d prefer to see it the true way).

1: Star Wars Battlefront 2 (Campaign): For this one I am going to solely focus on the campaign for this game because when the game was revealed it did have me hooked. You got to play as a member from the Empire’s Inferno Squad and you get to take one Rebels during the dying times of the Empires hold on the universe. But then we are then thrusted into something else that I wasn’t that huge of a fan of, playing as several heroes from the side of the Rebel Alliance including Luke Skywalker, Han Solo and Lando Calarisian. I was rather annoyed by this because outside of The Force Unleashed (since I haven’t played any other games like KOR) where you got to play as the villains, but then I was more furtherly annoyed when the main characters of Iden Versio and Del Meeko have a change of heart questioning the ideas of what had happened with Operation: Cinder so far and then pledge their allegiances towards Leia and the New Republic. I would have been a lot happier if we did get a game in which it could have focused on the side of the Empire during the fall of The Emperor and then the start-up of the First Order and how they came into power. That would have been more interesting instead of getting your usual ‘oh the Empire is really evil lets go on the run and join the Rebels.’ Even though the next Star Wars game that is out in a few days is called ‘Jedi Fallen Order’ and I am going to go on a limb and say that this is going to either focus on the guy either being on the side of the Jedi Order or possibly the Grey Order but one day I hope to get to play a game as the bad guys for the full game.

Next week we are going to be heading back to the comics with: Venom-Verse.

 

Leave a comment