Thoughts on Destiny 2

With the BETA for Destiny 2 nearly upon us I thought that it would be rather a good time to put my thoughts out on what I think of it so far from the information that we have been given from Bungie.

Story: This game is set one year after the events of the Rise of Iron DLC that came out, which I didn’t play, and a division of the Cabal called the Red Legion lead by Dominus Ghaul aka Gary, and they decide to assault The Last City and he takes manages to take out the Traveller and in the process stripping the Guardians of their powers. This causes the Guardians to flee and set up a new city in the European Dead Zone and start their own path of avenging and find then also have the Guardians find their new powers. I like this since that this seems to have a lot more story then what was shown for the first game since that a majority of the story for the game did end up coming from the DLC that came after the story was over.

Starting from scratch: One of the big things that this game does is that there aren’t any carry overs from the first Destiny game, which means that everyone gets a clean slate and it also encourages new player to join as well since that we are all starting from the beginning. The way that they showed that this was rather hilarious as well since that during the Red Legion’s attack Cade-6 says the line they destroyed your stuff, my stuff and especially my stuff. Also doing this as well can mean that players could even start coming up with new personal favourites combinations and armour. Which then leads me to my next thoughts. Another new thing about this game is that Peter Dinklage, who voiced Ghost in the first game isn’t reprising his roll this time round. This time we have Nolan North doing the voice and I like this a lot more than what I did with Dinklage since that it sounds more hilarious from what we have heard from him so far. But that could have been down to the direction that Dinklage was given to the script.

New Subclasses/Weapons/Armour: Since that Gary stripped the current powers of the Guardians, they now must venture out and try and find new powers for the game and they do look rather interesting. For the Hunter, they get the Arcstrider which grants them a Bo staff, Warlocks get the Dawnblade, a solar based sword and the Titans get Defender which gives them a void shield where you basically turn into Captain America. Another new thing that they added to the game is that they changed how the weapons and armour. With the weapons, they changed it from Primary/Secondary/Heavy its now going to be Kinetic/Energy/Heavy so that this means that depending on what sort of loads that you like there can be more combinations for loadouts which means that you could have two weapons that you really liked in Destiny 1 and you could use them both in Destiny 2. With the armour, I don’t think that they have changed it that much drastically. From what I have gathered they have changed it so that the armour just reads Armour/Recovery/Agility instead of Strength/Intellect/Discipline.

PvE/PvP: When I played Destiny I mainly played it for the PvE since that I didn’t have that much confidence in myself to do PvP and it was something that I found rather not interested in. But for this I may start doing it for this since that they shortened the player count from 6v6 to now being 4v4. But the thing that I am looking forward to for this is the PvE since that they did announce that there will be no going to orbit so that means that there will be less loading times since that it did seem that in Destiny seemed to be rather long winded with loading screens. I also like that we are getting four new areas to explore, the European Dead Zone, Saturn’s moon Titan, Io which is a planet that was created by the Traveller by terraforming and a planet that has been transformed by the Vex called Nessus. Plus, since that we still have a few months till they will announce any actual DLC would could be seeing more areas being unlocked in the new areas or even the chance of new areas being made.

First Strike- The Inverted Spire: The first strike that we got to see being revealed when Destiny 2 was The Inverted Spire where you travel to Nessus and try and find why the Red Legion are here at a dig-site but not only that but we will also have to deal with the Vex as well. For me I think that I may have a bit of trouble trying to get past the drill since I have a habit of badly timing things. But the thing that seems to be rather interesting about it is that the boss health bar appears to be in portions. But since I didn’t play anything after The Taken King, I’m uncertain if that happened afterwards. The whole mission actually looks like that it could be rather challenging but it looks like that it is going to be fun to play.

Leave a Reply

