How Suicide Squad Could Have Worked

So it has been nearly a year since the third movie in DC Extended Universe and there have been a lot of people that have slated the film, me included. With this I have decided to put down some of the points on what I think could have made Suicide Squad work as a better film.

Cast: One of my problems that I had with this cast was that it seemed to be pretty much a mixed bag and there were a few choices that I thought were either bad or okay. I thought that having Will Smith portraying Deadshot was a little bit weird since that his comic book counterpart was Caucasian but after seeing him in the film he was rather good. The rest of the cast was okay but I did have two problems. The first was Jared Leto as the Joker, he was decent but I did have a problem with him and that was mainly that he was useless in the entire film but I will bring my points back up later. My second problem was Cara Delevingne playing The Enchantress since like Joker I found her to be a rather pointless character and she was supposed to be the villain of the movie. Plus I do have a pet peeve when it comes to casting models in films. But there is one person that I really did like in the film and that was Jay Hernandez portrayal of El Diablo since that he seemed to be the only character that seemed to be only character that seemed to be true to the comic counterpart.

Plot: The plot of this film is rather boring, which is rather strange since that the Suicide Squad stories have been rather interesting. Amanda Waller recruits a team of convicts to be on stand-by if there was ever a time that would come where somebody like Superman (who had recently died) and once the film gets underway, The Enchantress turns on Waller and starts taking over Midway City and starts transforming the populace into monsters. Waller sends out her team and hijinks peruses with Rick Flag’s and his team along with Suicide Squad are sent in to extracting a high-profile target. A side story also involves Joker trying to get Harley out of the group by deactivating her nano-bomb in her neck. The squad finds out that Waller is the target for extract and the Joker reappears with Harley then runs off to be with Joker and manages to get her bomb disarmed but Waller orders her men to shoot them down where it appeared that Joker had died but it turns out that he hasn’t. Enchantress finds out that Waller is there and abducts her but Deadshot discovers her files on the squad and discovers the truth behind Enchantress and Flag reveals the truth and the team abandons him. But after a discussion at a bar they then decided that they are going to finish the mission which they do, managing to destroy Enchantress’s heart and rescued Waller and were sent back to Belle Reve with 10 years reduced off their sentence and Joker breaking Harley out.

I think that the film would have been a lot better if the main villain for the film would have been Joker. It would be a lot more interesting since that I don’t even think that even the casual DC fans or even causal movie fans would know who Enchantress was and having Joker being in the film just seemed to be an advertising ploy by DC to attract people to see the film. Having Joker as the villain would also cause more of a development Harley’s character by having her not knowing whether to trust Joker since that it was his fault that she ended up in Belle Reve. It would have been a lot more interesting than what we got in the film since that Harley seemed to be more interested in being madly infatuated with Joker since that there have been a lot stories more recently where Harley has become more independent which is something that I would have preferred to see.

Designs: I like the designs for a lot of the cast since that a lot seem to be rather practical and even the Joker’s was okay with the way that they were handling his character. But the one design that I hated the most was Harley Quinn’s design. I found it to be the worst out of the cast and I think that it could have been heavily been redesigned to not come of being rather skimpy since that what it pretty much was. I think that it could have been designed a lot better and I hope that in the future instalments for the series that they are going to alter the costume.

Leave a Reply

