Top 5 Underrated Films I’ll See This Year

A few years ago I made a blog about three films that I would go see in cinemas (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles I saw last year) to hope that they would be good then what the trailers had shown. At least I thought that two of the three that I covered were rather decent and then there was the massive disappointment of Transformers Age of Extinction but for anyone who us a frequent reader on here knows already that I have shared my hatred for it.

5: Doctor Strange: So the first film that is on my list won’t be coming out in cinemas till November this year since that it is currently in production and won’t be finished for at least another two months unless there is going to be any extra footage filmed such as what happened with Age of Ultron this year. In this film we will be seeing the first new character of Phase 3 with Benedict Cumberbatch will be playing the our Doctor Strange and from the images of him in the costume that have surfaced on line through social media sites and entertainment magazines it does look really good and I think that he looks better with these then in the mock photos made when people were going down the casting picks. Not else is that much known about the film except for the casting where in addition to Cumberbatch we have Rachel McAdams, Tilda Swinton and Mads Mikkelsen who has links in being the villain for this film. The reason why I have this on the list cause to me that it seems to be, like Guardians of the Galaxy and Ant Man, could be a really big risk with audiences and fans of the series alike but it can be a runaway success with fans.

4: Suicide Squad: I have been a fan of the New 52 version of the Suicide Squad and been thinking that it has been a rather decent story though they do keep changing focuses around it from issues and revolving character development around it. Then when I heard that there was a film going to be made about these anti-heroes I started to really have my doubts about it. First the casting seems to be rather okay at best. You have Will Smith playing Deadshot, Margot Robbie playing Harley Quinn and Jared Leto playing The Joker. This casting does make me feel okay but I think that it is a complete gamble that DC is going for here and the biggest gamble is having Cara Delevinge as a member of the main cast mainly because I am more against having people who are more recognised for modelling than filming since that they 90% of the time are terrible actors and that seems like my biggest risk for the film. But from what I’ve seen from the trailers that it does look okay and that it can do well for DC money wise. But if it does fail I would recommend for people to go and watch Batman: Assault on Arkham, which has the Suicide Squad in.

3: Jungle Book: I really have this big peeve of when companies that decide to re-release films into live action and this film has really made me annoyed with Disney even more. I really don’t know why Disney are doing this for since that this is either the third or fourth film that they have adapted the for a live action remake and why bother doing it where you have a film that has already made. Nevertheless I think that the only reason that I may find this to be underrated is the fact of the cast that they have that are playing the animals in the film. You have Scarlett Johansson voice Kaa which from the trailer seems to be a really good choice since that she does use rather a seductive voice in the trailer which Kaa was trying to do to Mowgli to kill him. Then you have Idris Elba voicing Shere Khan and just me picturing his voice coming from a CGI tiger does look really cool. And finally we have Bill Murray voicing Baloo I think that this is a good idea and I hope that he doesn’t do a bad job with it since the last film that I saw him in Garfield and it seemed to be a rather half assed performance from it. Other than that I hope that it can do rather well but like the previous live actions they didn’t put anything that decent into the stories and characters in to the films so I’m not holding onto anything special there.

2: Ghostbusters: When it was announced that an all female reboot of Ghostbusters a lot of people had a lot of complaints about the film as well and I also had my doubts about the film as well and frankly I still do have my doubts about the film. The first reason is that I don’t think that this film is necessary to have a reboot since that Ghostbusters was a good film and doesn’t seem that it would have needed a remake. I still think though that instead of doing a reboot, a soft reboot that takes place after the events of Ghostbusters 2 would be better and more modern to what audience goers are more used to seeing such as in the style of Terminator Genysis and Jurassic World. The only few good things that I do have about the film is that the film is being directed by Paul Feig who has in the past number of years worked on a lot of comedies and also made Sandra Bullock a good actress again. I still do have a lot of worries about the film and for the fact that a trailer for the film hasn’t been released yet it does make me feel nervous about the film that has a lot to live up for.

1: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2: Out of the Shadows: I along with a lot of people gave a lot of crap about the first film for how bad it looked and how bad the casting was for the film and when I saw it last year for the first time I didn’t think that it was that bad of a film. I mean sure the premise strange and that the casting and writing wasn’t that great and I still thought it was decent. But when the first trailer for this was shown I was actually surprised by it mainly because it looked a whole lot better than what the first film was. For one the trailer showed that the Turtles have had a newer look and colouring that made them look more different. The next thing that I found good from the trailer was the introduction of Rocksteady and Beebop since people who watch the television show that’s currently on Nickelodeon would recognise them. But the thing that does make me gladder is that the film is a reboot of the film. They recast I think three characters, Shredder, Karai and I’m pretty sure that they also did it with Baxter Stockman since that the person in the flashbacks wasn’t Tyler Perry. I also think that Johnny Knoxville isn’t voicing Leonardo this time round (which again similar to the television show) which I’m not that fussed about. I still do feel that this can be underrated since people will still have thoughts about the first film and continue them along to this one as well but I got to say give this more of a chance that what people would do with Transformers, make this better than Transformers.

Leave a Reply

