Can Batman v Superman be a Good Film?

Since the revelation of a new film in DCU that was going to feature Batman and Superman I originally thought ‘All right this looks like that it could be a good film’. Then I got a few months later and they started to reveal more and more actors that are going to be in it and when I found out that Ben Affleck was going to be playing Batman my mind went into complete shut-down. The guy who played Daredevil is now playing Batman.

I still feel weird saying that he was going to be Batman but then the more weird casting new came along when it was revealed that Jessie Eisenberg and Jason Momoa were going to be playing Lex Luthor and Aquaman. Again this is another casting decision that I think was rather strange and worse than Bat-Fleck. For the main reason I am not the biggest fan of Eisenberg since I think that his acting id pretty terrible and I’m glad the last film that I watched him in, which was Zombieland, had better actors in the film like Woody Harrelson and even a Bill Murray cameo was better than his acting in that film. But when the full trailer dropped at this year’s San Diego Comic-Con I instantly hated the Luthor design for the film. It looks really stupid and the acting doesn’t even seem that good compared to the previous versions.

Also this film marks the first film version, I think, of Wonder Woman as well. This is something that I am looking forward to even though that people have had mixed feelings about Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman but again from the trailer I think she looks rather good in the trailer. It did show a lot of footage but still enough footage for us to be spoiled on what she is going to be like in the film or what her stance is in the film.

Now on to the actual story elements to see if there are going to be any good. Batman has been retired for a few years, not knowing if it follows the events of The Dark Knight Rises, and starts a vendetta against Superman since in the battle in Metropolis against Zod during Man of Steel since it also destroyed a Wayne Industries. So Bruce decides to take up against Superman by returning to the mantle of Batman in a rather similar costume to the Dark Knight Returns series where Batman returned to action after being away for decades. I am looking rather much for those scenes since it looks really awesome and nice to see on the big screen. On the Superman side of the tale Superman is sanctioned by the government and attends a hearing since there are people that want him on Earth who see him in the sort of Jesus savoir view, especially the scene in the trailer when people are holding out their hands looking for help and it panned over to Superman. But there are something that I did hate was that Luthor had a some sort of control over Superman that didn’t make that much of sense during the trailer unless off screen or before that part Luthor had a upper hand. Probably either the use of Kryptonite or Lois Lane being held captive, both seems plausible.

Another two things that bug me about the trailer is the Superman Army that was shown. I have no idea what this is about since I have never seen anything like this before and I think that they were added to extend the plot. But if they were featured in the comic books please somebody mention it in the comments segment. The other is news that Michael Shannon would be returning to the film, though Superman killed him off in Man of Steel, since his body was shown in a body bag. It was rumoured that for this film they were going to be bringing Doomsday into the film by altering Zod and turning him into Doomsday. This I thought was a really stupid idea at first and seems rather reminiscent of what Stanley Tucci was doing in Transformers 4 trying to create a Transformer based off Optimus Prime but ended up turning it into Megatron. This was then later confirmed (but more heavily hinted at) when Shannon said in a interview that he couldn’t open doors because of his ‘giant flippers’. But I got to say having Doomsday being a third act villain that unites the team does sound rather interesting.

In all this film is going to bug me more each day when I hear more and more news about it and now it is all about a waiting game to see if it is going to be any good next year.

Leave a Reply

