Top Ten Films I’m Looking Forward To

As everybody probably knows on this, I love seeing films no matter if they are good or rock bottom terrible. Here are the ten films that I am looking forward to see, this was originally going to be a top five list but since that there were more films that I’m looking forward to see than there were games.

10: Goosebumps:

I wasn’t that much of a fan of Goosebumps when I was a child, hell back then I wasn’t that much of a fan of scary stories at all. So when I heard that there was going to be a film version of this, it did start to peak my interest a little. For the film they managed to get Jack Black signed up to the film as one of the main leads and it turns out that he is playing the author of the book R.L Stine. From what I saw of the trailer I thought that it looked rather well done. But the only problem that I may have with it is the way that critics may have with the film especially since that the last Sony film that was live action and had animation, Pixels, hasn’t seemed to go that well and that seems to be one of my concerns since the trailer for Pixels was rather funny and that it made it look like a good film. Hopefully when the time comes around it will be a good film.

9: Sinister 2:

When I got the first Sinister film I really didn’t know what to expect of the film except that it was a horror film and that’s pretty much what I knew. But when I watched it I was rather blown away in some terms. The fact that they were able to combine a sort of paranormal haunting film across with a well put together thriller and have a rather good outcome. The last year I found that there was going to be a sequel to the film and I was rather intrigued by it since that with the events of the film resolved it with an ajar ending where the main character was killed off but then the events of what happened to the children carried on. The story carries on months after the event of the first film and Deputy So and So is investigating the murders with the same M.O and tries to stop another family from being killed after one of the children finds the films in their attic. Hopefully this sequel will be better since when it comes to horror sequels they usually don’t seem to be as good as the first.

8 Friday the 13th:

With this I don’t think that much is known about what is going to happen with the film other than rumours. It’s going to be a supposed reboot, even though that the last film was also a reboot, and is to feature the origins of Jason. I hope that there is going the films isn’t going to be as bad as the last film since that seems to be a major mix up of all the original series of Friday the 13th. I particularly didn’t like that film much so I hope that they are going to the right thing with this film and with a release date of May 13th they may need to get there shit together unless it will be a January 13th release.

7: Star Wars: Episode 7: The Force Awakens:

Ever since there was a large break in LucasFilms where they didn’t seem they were going to be making anymore Star Wars films since they seemed to not have any ideas probably until a few years ago when Disney, the evil conglomerate that we love, bought LucasFilms and started production of an entire new trilogy and people that I knew seemed to be really at mix with this. They were excited with it since that it was a new Star Wars film and that our generation is lucky to get two trilogy arcs in our lifetime and on the other hand after the disasters that they had with characters, direction and story in the prequel trilogy they seemed to be put at a set-back. But then when they released the trailer for the film I was blown away with it. For one there was a new evil that was slowly growing members like what Hydra was like during the events between The First Avenger and The Winter Solider. And I got to say the design for the enemies looks really awesome, they seem to look like an advanced version of the Stormtroopers from the original version. Then at the end of the trailer the best part was the scene with Han Solo and Chewbacca returning to the Millennium Falcon. Another thing that I am looking forward for the film is that it does have a cast of fairly unknown actors in it so that is something that I think can ruin the film but can also be something that can be a good thing since that it could then excel them in the future to make even greater films.

6: X-Men Apocalypse

So the latest trilogy for this version of X-Men is set to end with the X-Men going off against Apocalypse and his Four Horsemen with two of them being confirmed as Psylock and Archangel. Now when I first heard that this was going to be made I was really curios with what it was going to be like, especially since the Apocalypse is one of the toughest person that the X-Men had faced off against. Role on six or so months later and they revealed the look of Apocalypse and I was rather disappointed with the design for him. He seemed to remind me of Ivan Ooze from the Power Rangers movie. Apocalypse depicted in the comics and 90’s show was a designed in a like a titan being bigger than most of the mutants in the X-Men but this design makes me feel rather meh about him. The other thing that I’m looking forward to is that they are bringing the original-ish X-Men team with people like Jean Grey, Cyclopes and Storm. This I was looking for. They also brought in some notable cast for these roles especially the role of Jean Grey being played by Game of Thrones Sophie Turner and I think that it was a good casting choice. I don’t know if I have seen any of the other actors in anything else, except the original cast that are in it since they were in the previous films. I do seem to have more hope for this film to do well than the last 20th Century Fox Marvel film Fantastic Four as it seems to look like a rather train wreck of a film.

5: Batman/Superman: Dawn of Justice

After the slight success that Man of Steel had in the box office splitting people right down the middle there was already a film being made in midst at first being labelled at first I think as a sequel to Man of Steel but in fact is a solo film being called Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. At first I thought that this film was going to be alright but then it did start to get me rather down when it turned out that they were going to be vetoing the Dark Knight series Batman and replacing him with a completely different actor, Ben Affleck. When I heard this and my friends did they couldn’t believe that the same person that managed to ruin the Daredevil film was going to be the new Batman. Nevertheless I pressed on and then heard more and more grim news with the film with them supposable bringing in more characters including Wonder Woman, Aquaman and also reportedly Cyborg. Then we found out who was going to be playing Wonder Woman and Aquaman being Gal Gadot and Jason Mamoa and at first I was rather disappointed that they went with Jason Mamoa as the role of Aquaman since he doesn’t look like him in pretty much any version I have ever seen, but hey it’s not like if Hollywood gives a damn as long as the film can make more than it budget they be happy. When the trailer came out though my doubts of the film did seem to wash away Affleck does look rather good playing both Wayne and Batman, but we’ll have to wait to the film to see if that’s true, and we also saw what the motive of Affleck is for the film. Superman on the other hand doesn’t seem to have that much going for him in the film except that he seems to be hated or loved by the masses, again Man of Steel in a nutshell, and that one of the villains, I think that what he is going to be in the film, Lex Luthor, played by Jessie Eisenberg, in what I think seemed like a rubbish choice to be opposing Superman, Hell bring back Kevin Spacey from Superman Returns he’s make a better Luthor than Eisenberg. Nevertheless it’s another film that we have to wait and see to see if it any good whatsoever.

4: Suicide Squad

Over the past few years I have actually been reading the New 52 Suicide Squad series and I have been a fan of it since there is a different mix of characters that you have in it. Then they announced that there was going to be a film being made and I was over the moon and then the casting came in for who was going to be in the movie and then my heart sunk. First you have Will Smith playing Deadshot and I really didn’t know what to think of this, first for the fact that I don’t think that Will Smith was in a film, before filming Focus which I didn’t know he was filming at the time, was After Earth after it was a bomb at the box office. Then we have Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn and in all honesty I have no reaction to this what so ever. I never saw I think it was Home and Away, I never saw The Wolf on Wall Street and I never saw Focus. So judging from the trailer she seems alright and that’s all I got to say. But on the other hand there is one thing that I do hate and it is one of my pet peeves when it comes to a casting choice and that is having models being your characters. I hate it and when I saw that Cara Delvingne was going to be playing Enchantress I already marked that down as a loss. The last time that I saw a film that had a model in as one of the main characters, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, was Transformers Dark of the Moon and that was the first nail in the coffin that closed Transformers for me. It doesn’t seem for me to work that well and I don’t know why casting does that unless they didn’t have anyone else good for the part. I don’t even know what the purpose of the film is going to be but I get the feeling that it has to do with a mission that needs to be off the books and that’s it. Hopefully it will be a good film but again time will tell.

3: Dragonball Z: Resurrection of F

Now this is a slight odd-ball for me since that this film is technically already out, in Japan and I think is out or was out in American and Australia for a short time since it was being shown for a few weeks there and since that I live in the United Kingdom we are the unlucky people since that we can’t watch it in cinemas. So I have to wait for a few months or probably more likely next year for it to arrive on DVD/ Blu Ray. This film is set after the events of Battle of the Gods where Freeza is brought back from the dead when some of the remnants of Freeza ‘s Army Sorbet and Tagoma head to Earth where they persuade Pilaf, Mai and Shu to use their wish to bring back Freeza. I think that I am looking forward to see this since the last film was really awesome to watch, though it was a low quality version I found on YouTube, and that it also introduced a new arc in a way to the series. Another thing that I am looking forward to is seeing what the battle would be like between Freeza, who has been revealed with this new Gold Form and the Super Sayian God Form that Goku has that he obtained in the last film. Hopefully it won’t be that long of a wait for it to reach the UK since I am wanting to watch it before the new series of Dragonball starts over in Japan and then however long it would take for the dubbed version to be revealed.

2: Deadpool

I have been a fan of Deadpool for the past few years being able to pick up a few issues here and there via my Comixology app since they do events where they have free comic books over the summer and Christmas period or just the run of the mill free comic books. I also started reading the latest version of the Deadpool comics and have found them really enjoyable and then when I found out that there was going to be a Deadpool film I was over the moon, but I then found out that they were going to be bringing out Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool and again like with Dawn of Justice I banging my head off the desk when they did this for the fact they had ruined Deadpool in X-Men Origins: Wolverine. But after the past few months this year when filming I started to have more hope with the film. The costume looks awesome and pretty much an exact copy of the comics and his comedy seems a lot better than in Origins. The cast seems rather well put together and the story seems to be rather easy to follow.

1: Captain America: Civil War

Now this is a story that I have been waiting to see if Marvel will do since the first Avengers film since that this was a key story in the Marvel universe splitting the Avengers down the middle into two teams. One siding with Iron Man with the Superhuman Registration Act and that it should be public knowledge for people to know who they are, whereas the people siding with Captain America believe that they should be not have to be registered since that people have private lives and there could be people that would want to target specific people in their lives. I don’t know what the actual premise of the film is going to be but since they have possibly a cast ensemble that rivals Dawn of Justice anything is possible with Marvel. At least that we know who is going to be in the film including the New Avengers that was revealed at the end of Avengers Age of Ultron, Bucky Barnes as well as Ant-Man so there you have a rather awesome film. Also new villains for the film as well have been announced as well including Daniel Bruhl portraying Baron Zemo as well as Martin Freeman playing an unspecific role that looks like could be a villain. Plus also we see Frank Grillo returning as Crossbones from The Winter Soldier. We also have two of the latest Marvel characters being introduced to this series being Black Panther, played by Chadwick Boseman, and a brand new Spiderman, being played by Tom Holland, and that is one of the things that I was rather disappointed by this since the fact that we just had a new Spiderman in Andrew Garfield and I thought that he had a lot of potential to progress further on but I guess that is just a lost dream now. Hopefully Holland will be a good Spiderman since he is also getting his own film that they are fitting in Phase 3 as well.

One thought on “Top Ten Films I’m Looking Forward To

  1. I can assure you that Resurrection was amazing. I got to see it the first day in theaters overs in the US. It’s easily my second favorite DBZ film behind the original Broly title. Batman V Superman and Captain America are certain to be pretty awesome as well! I think Star Wars should be cool and I’m a little reserved with Apocalypse, but I hope it turns out really well. Definitely a lot of good movies coming out soon.

Leave a Reply

