Top Ten Nostalgic Television Shows

With the many different shows that either have went through different reboots or films being made or have sequel series being made that are based around different stories nowadays I got to thinking, man are there a load of shows that I’ve missed watching. So this list is my own top 10 nostalgic shows that I’ve missed as well as some honourable mentions.

10. Yugioh

For me Yugioh was a really good television series that turned into a popular brand worldwide that still has people watching it today. The original series follows the tales of a young boy called Yugi and his friends participating in a tournament held by Maximillian Pegasus because he forced Yugi to play in it after capturing his Grandfathers soul. There along with his Millennium Puzzle discovers new friends and redefining characters for the series as well. This was so popular in Japan that the card game was actually made, three more additional series, four new spinoff series and two films. I get the feeling that this series is going to be around for a while.

9. M.A.S.K

For me M.A.S.K was a really awesome show when I grew up as a kid. I remember having it on video and used to watch it every week. It was focused around a sort of military background with a group called M.A.S.K (Mobile Armoured Strike Kommand) and they faced off against a faction that called V.E.N.O.M (Vicious Evil Network of Mayhem). The main reason that I liked about this show was that the cars and vehicles could transform from an ordinary car and turn it into a weaponized Bond-esq car. The show though only lasted for two seasons but for an 80’s show it did live up to the hype of Transformers and GI Joe.

8. Transformers

Now Transformers for me actually started out with The Unicron Trilogy series starting with Armada and I thought ‘By god what is this show’. I loved watching it as a child and found a lot of the characters to be easily identifiable in the series in a similar way to how films in the 80’s and 90’s had sort of stereotypical characters but at least you know who they were. I then discovered that they did have a original series that aired mid 80’s and I remember borrowing the film off a friend and thought man this is a good film and rather wished that I had watched the series that this film was about and I did get to see it years later when I got it on DVD. A lot of the times when I watched the original series I thought that it was weird how the Decepticons, though evil in general, went for a lot of green and safer ways to get Energon to try and either get home or destroy the Autobots which I think was strange that Optimus Prime never thought of doing that, using green energy to make Energon.

7. Arthur

Anyone in the UK who watched CBBC/ BBC1/2 when they had the children’s morning television at one point in time must have watched this show. I really liked watching this show when I was growing up and its nice for me to see that CBBC still have it on air, repeating old episodes along with airing new ones that were probably released in America in 2011. With a series that had a core focusing on childhood from dealing with school projects and friends leaving for possibly ever. I still think to this day that the story that was told when Buster found out that his Dad was going to be taking him around the world with the possibility of not returning was a rather good storyline for a kids show of it time. I liked watching it then and I still watching it now.

6. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle

Their teenagers that are mutants, who are ninjas and are Turtles. This had got to be one of the craziest ideas that they must have had when they came up for this show. In the original series it seemed to be a rather cheesy animation again from the 80’s but I saw it aired during the 90’s over in the UK, and I got to say that it was one of the most weird series I had possibly had watched over the course of my childhood. But I then grew up with a newer version of the Ninja Turtles in 2003 when they debut with a near anime style to them and my god I enjoyed the series. It was really enjoyable series to watch when it was on CITV’s morning block and I used to watch it if I was awake at the time. The story for this was really imaginative especially after the second and third series and it was really enjoyable from what they had aired. I have also been really enjoying the new CGI incarnation of the series because it seems like to be a mix of the original series and the last series, with some cheesy ness of the 80’s but with the serious nature of the 2003 series. Also who thought that TMNT would have been as big as what Batman is like nowadays with the amount of different incarnations that have aired over the past twenty plus years.

5. Batman: The Animated Series

The show that probably defined a generation and was one of the best shows that I had possibly had watched on what I think could have been the either on  Sky 1 or more likely Cartoon Network, since I lived in the UK and didn’t have the channel it was aired in America. I loved watching this show and then its futuristic follow up Batman Beyond. The characters were designed really well. Also the stories that they had for each episode was really fresh and that they also had a continuative narrative through some episodes it was done really well. It was also an introduction to two actors that also define the generation and voices for two of the most icon characters in DC history. That being Kevin Conroy being the voice of Bruce Wayne/Batman who has reprised his role for the current Batman Arkham series and Mark Hamill as the iconic Joker who like Conroy brought back the Joker voice for the Arkham series games. Overall this series is really epic and it also brought us one of the now staple DC characters Harley Quinn.

4. Scooby Doo

Scooby Doo was one of the most recognisable shows that I have ever watched on CBBC, with the fact that they also re-air a few seasons of the show in their current broadcasting block, I always seem to enjoy watching it. I think that I really enjoyed the series because I always thought it was a really good show, I mean at the time the animation was okay but comparing it to the most recent incarnations it looks like a child drew the characters. Another thing that I probably liked about the show was the theme tune that went with it; it was fun and catchy and was a theme tune that you could even sing along with it. Another reason I liked it was that it seemed to keep rather fresh in some episodes, especially when it came to later seasons when they added guest stars to the show, you had also a mix of history and mythology to the series as well from Native Americans to Vikings I always got fascinated by this show and I kept on watching the show through to its following series and hope that the new series will do as well as the last series did.

3. Pokémon

Pokémon, a video game, a manga series, a card game and an extremely long television series. For me I can always remember watching this series and thinking wow this show looks awesome. When I was a kid watching shows like this and I always was quiet for half an hour being sat in front of the television watching it. There have been a lot of things that I liked about the show, like when Ash and company saved a Charmander and that it was one of Ash’s best Pokémon and then started turning into a real nuisance for him even more when it turned into a Charizard and it took him to the next season for Charizard to start accepting Ash as its trainer. I liked it because it was one of the first episodes to show the actual nature of Pokémon that it can change, in this case the worst, like humans do in real life. In overall I have watched, at least 75% of the entire Pokémon series, from Kanto to Kalos and always thought that Ash is possibly one of the smart/dumb characters ever conceived for a show. In the first season around a quarter the way through he captures a Caterpie, evolves it to a Metapod and evolves it to be a Butterfree only for him to go off with a pink Butterfree that isn’t even a shiny Butterfree in the games. He has always given away really good Pokémon like Primape and most recently a Goodra, one of the first Pokémon that he managed to fully evolve in the series. Never the less the writers for the show might end up writing some crazy thing in when Ash gets to the Kalos league and Goodra flies back to Ash like what his Gliscor did in the Sinnoh series.

2. Digimon

Now many people who see this may be amazed to see that I picked this over Pokémon because back then you were either Team Pokémon or Team Digimon. I was always on the fence and I always enjoyed watching both series. The reason why I preferred this series over Pokémon was the fact that it had much better characters and better designs. I still prefer it to Pokémon nowadays because it had a lot more better character development in the whole first arc of Digimon than the entire series of Pokémon. I think that I can remember also a lot more from Digimon in the first series than I can from Pokémon because it stuck with me more. I can remember the monsters of the week like Kuwagamon, Shellmon, Seadramon, Meramon, Andromon, I can remember the villain of the first arc better for his presence when we was there, commanding over everything and splitting the team to the furthest regions he could. I can also remember a lot of the voice characters that voiced Digimon to be really good mainly because they seemed to be a parody of famous actors and entertainers, for instance there was a Fridgemon who seemed he was nearly voiced after Rodney Dangerfield, I think, then you have Etomon who was a parodied version of Elvis Presley, and I think that the voice actor is back for the latest incarnation Digimon Fusion voicing Starmon. Also in the Digimon series there was a parodied version of Christopher Walken which I did find really hilarious. Never the less I always love watching the show, its storylines were always good to watch, the character always seemed to be real and it was fun to watch.

1. Mighty Morphin Power Rangers

This was the defining show of my generation, defiantly if you were a boy. The show was pretty much non-stop action in most episodes and I think a lot of the times I always wanted to be a Power Ranger when I grew up. Along with this I always thought that this show, along with most of the anime that was on, was always an American concept. I think that it took me to when I was probably in secondary school to realise that Power Rangers was an American concept on a Japanese series. From there it did blow my mind that they were able to create a whole concept that aired in Japan to then adapt it for a Western audience. A lot of the character I can easily remember but the one that I and probably everyone in the world can remember is that of Tommy Oliver, played by Jason David Franks, who went on to reprising his character for five series when in three series he was a part of the main cast. I most recently got back into Power Rangers in the last year and a half watching Linkara’s History of Power Rangers series and it got me to wanting to watch the show again even though comparing it to the current line up seems a lot better in my point. Never the less I always looked forward to watching this show that I nearly over watched the first video I had of the show. Thank god for the digital age where quality is the only problem.

One thought on “Top Ten Nostalgic Television Shows

  1. Definitely, those are all really nostalgic for me except for Mask and power Rangers. I still keep up with Yugioh, Pokemon, and Transformers through their current products. Robots in Disguise, Rescue Bots, Yugioh Arc V coming up, and the Pokemon movies. These shows were great when I was a kid and they’re still great to watch nowadays.

Leave a Reply

