Films: 2014

So next year there are three films that to say feeling optimistic about seeing, they are Amazing Spider-Man 2, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Transformers 4. First off I am a massive fan of each of these but I think that there will be a lot of critics going to have there a lot to say about them so I’ll get my licks in first.

Image
First I’ll start with ASM2, I did enjoy the first movie a lot and I did like the casting choices like Emma Stone as Gwen Stacy and also the fact that Mary Jane is nowhere featured unlike Sam Ramini’s trilogy where she was pointed out to be Peter Parker love interest instead of the true love interest who was brought in as a cameo in Spider Man 3. Back to the film, first the original thing I like was that they were bringing Electro in as the main villain but then it was announced that Jamie Foxx was going to be playing the role which made me rather disappointed, also the fact that this is the AMAZING Spider-Man the character design for Electro is ULTIMATE Spider-Man. The next thing I’m not keen on is Rhino as a secondary villain, though this could lead to a Sinister Six story down the road, plus the film then makes the tie in game non existent in the time frame as the game had a cross species Rhino as a villain.Other than this I’m looking forward to it and hopefully it will be good as the first.

Image
The second film on the list is the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles films and the second Michael Bay film involved that’s on the list. This one though I know very little of the subject I hope that it is better then the TMNT CGI film released years ago. I believe that this is going to be a origins film and CGI turtles which hopefully they’ll get right. The other thing I know about the film is that Shredder is going the villain of the film and I really hope that they get the design right for Shredder, mainly because this year in Wolverine the Silver Samurai reminded me of Shredder and that really disappointed me. But the thing that has be bothering me is Megan Fox as April O’Neil. To be honest I have always hated her roles like Transformers and Hope and Faith but for this I do feel optimistic cause everyone deserves a second chance.

Image
And finally on this list is Transformers: Age of Extinction. For a film that shouldn’t really exist since director Michael Bay said that Dark of the Moon was going to be the last film he probablies thought that he could milk the series a little more. First I’ve been a fan if Transformers since I started secondary school and I really thought that this could have been a good film if Bay didn’t fuck it up. First thing I like about the film is that Dinobots are included in the film, dunno which one’s they are but finally something decent from G1 in the movie. But now for three things I really hate about the film. One the possible fact that Megatron/Galvatron is not going to be the main villain in the film instead it’s going to be Nemesis Prime, a dark copy of Optimus, I really hope that they will add Galvatron into the fold but that could be unlikely. The second is that there has been little mentioned about Unicron who would have been a better villain then Nemesis Prime and gives more of a feel of G1 then Armada. And finally they have put too much focus on human casting then they do about the actual Transformers. First they have a totally new cast for the film with I think a few recurring characters, but the only character I like about the film is that Kelsey Grammer is playing the main antagonist of the film which I’ll be looking forward to.

Overall these three films I am feeling optimistic about yet when I see em you will be reading my reviews about em to see if I was right.

Leave a Reply

